Cheap Tricks

I bought a book called Making Time to Write, but I didn’t have time to read it. I bought another book called Write! 10 Days to Overcome Writer’s Block. Period. I thought that would be the one. It has lists for you to fill in, first using your right hand then using your left hand. You are supposed to come to some understanding with yourself about how your right and left brain can work together instead of continuously sabotaging each other. I felt a bit ridiculous but tried a few lists. Honestly, I just starting filling it in the way I thought the author wanted me to and that got me nowhere. I think I finished the first 15 pages of that one. Oh, and I skipped to the end for the solution to the right/left brain thing but I didn’t understand it.

I have a lot of books about writing already, some really good ones, but I’ve been looking for something that really gets me charged. Something that finally gives me the secret to getting my arse in gear and writing, writing, writing.  It’s incredible how many books claim they can do this. 1,000 Creative Writing Prompts, One Year to a Writing Life, 786 Ideas to Jumpstart Your Writing (not 785 or 787, mind you), The Everything Creative Writing Book (they make cookbooks too–I recommend The Everything Vegan or The Everything Pressure Cooker), The 90 Day Novel (now that’s what I’m talking about!), Immediate Fiction (even better!!) or why not go with the tried and true, The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Creative Writing? Because I must be a Complete Idiot buying all these books on how to get writing and then not writing.

Who are all these people out there writing about writing? I’m starting to think you don’t need to be a writer to write one of these books, and if not, then maybe I could write one. Which sounds like another great thing to do in order to distract me from actually writing.

I hate that it all comes down to me. Take a walk for 20 minutes instead of reading another inspiring dieter’s story in Women’s Day. Don’t buy the friggin’ Fritos. Sit at your computer without checking email, reading blogs or looking for new books to buy about writing. Put the pen to the paper and actually write something. Now. Tomorrow. The Next Day. Cut the crap. Just Do It. Use your words. Get your own Mojo. Bring. It. On.

See, wouldn’t I to write a great book about writing?!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cheap Tricks

  1. i think you would write a great book if you could overcome your writers block and then have enough time to write. But maybe you’re too busy

Leave a Reply

