Run in the Shadows

I’m not good at this. In 5th grade my cousin Rose Ann sent me a chain letter. I mean an actual letter, that came in the mailbox. The letter instructed me to send the same letter to 5, 10, maybe a dozen people, in order to receive good luck or God’s blessing or a trip to Disney Land, I can’t remember which. I had to do it within a certain time frame, and if I didn’t do it I would screw it up for hundreds of people, all holding their breath, waiting for that good luck or ticket to heaven or magical visit with Mickey. I was terrified.

I hated that letter. First of all, I didn’t believe it. Secondly, it was so much pressure. The number of letters, the time frame, the fact that so many people were counting on me. So I blew it. I broke the chain. And I felt awful, like Judas or Richard Nixon. Later, I received several other chain letters–some creepier than others, threatening bad health and all kinds of maladies if I broke the chain. But every time I did the same thing. Sweat over it until the deadline was too close to actually follow through, then afterwards, sulked around like the looser I was.

Fortunately, chain letters fell out of fashion and I had a reprieve. Then came email. What the heck?! Now I was getting those dang letters in droves. This time with smiley faces and angel wings and dancing teddy bears. It was too much. They just about did me in. I was promised millions of dollars, perfect health, some unknown amazing thing that would happen that couldn’t even be described. And this time it would really work. Really. Just do this, you will not be sorry. It’s worked for a million people. Cross my heart. Just try it. Write your name in purple capital letters at the bottom of this list and forward it to 30 of your closest friends within 5 minutes. Eternal peace and extraordinary riches will be yours. Or, even better, you will be the lucky recipient of 200 casserole recipes. I hit that delete button like I was playing Whac-A-Mole.

So when I was nominated for the Liebster Blog award from Day I Started Reading I was a little freaked. It felt like it was happening again-the chain letter had infiltrated my blog. I was rattled a bit, and went into my aforementioned mode of coping. But in trying to find out a little more about it, I determined it was actually a pretty cool thing. Here are the rules:

  • thank the blogger who nominated you
  • nominate 5 blogs with less than 200 followers
  • spread the news about the award in a post

After searching around for a little more information, it seems that the idea is along the lines of Pay It Forward, and it is a way to increase readership and spread the love to other bloggers. I couldn’t find any information on who started it (Liebster, are you out there?!), and I was hoping there was a trophy involved (which there is not), but I decided I could handle it.

Unfortunately I am so new to the blogging thing that I don’t read a ton of blogs, so I can only start with 3 nominations. I will try to add others later. But first, a big shout out to Day I Started Reading. What a really nice thing to do and I apologize for not responding sooner. I hope you understand why it took awhile based on this neurotic post.

Here are my nominees–I hope this brings them more readers, a little luck, perhaps a casserole recipe or a million dollars.

Blog on…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Run in the Shadows

  1. I’d like to thank my parents, my kids…just kidding. Thanks for sharing the love, keep writing
    http://masteringthemiles.blogspot.com/2011/11/sharing-blog-love.html

Leave a Reply

