Getting to Know All About You

Sometimes I sing in the shower. Usually show tunes. But unfortunately morose songs like “Don’t Cry for Me Argentina” or “Aldonza” from Man of LaManchia (talk about a downer).

I shower in the morning so I often think about my dreams from the night before. Last night I dreamt I had to leave my spouse because she insisted it would be fun to try Meth and I knew she would become immediately addicted. In the dream I had to pack up everything in the house that was mine and just when I thought I was finished there would be another huge pile of junk I needed to sort through. I think this is related to my intense cravings for cheese since I gave up dairy 2 weeks ago. And lately I am really feeling the need to organize my basement.

If the shower wakes me up enough I write. In my head of course, although maybe they sell a waterproof tape recorder at The Sharper Image or Radio Shack that would be useful. But then it would record my singing so that’s not happening. Interestingly, I often edit what I wrote recently–thinking of information I need to add or words I need to change. It’s fascinating to me that I can remember complete sentences that I wrote from 3 days ago but I can’t remember if I just put conditioner in my hair. I sometimes think about my next novel (even though I haven’t finished the first one) and who will play the main character in the movie version. I’ve picked out the final song when the credits role and there are scenes that give the weepy theater goers a glimpse of the future. Sometimes I sing this song too, even though it’s not a show tune. It’s an oldie but a goodie if you need something new for your own shower repertoire.

I think of odd things too, like how the new turbo hand dryers make your skin look like something out of a Sci Fi movie. This makes me think about a word I just learned, Steampunk. I wonder how I could be so old and out of it to just learn of Steampunk and I wonder if there is any way it will wind up in a novel or story I write. I wonder what will happen on The Good Wife next week and hope to God it’s not a repeat. I remember I need to buy Vital Wheat Gluten Flour, another thing I just learned about. It’s called for in a veggie burger recipe I want to try. At first I thought it was some particular brand of flour or that  it was cookbook humor and the author was trying to say it was a really important ingredient but finally I found out it is basically flour on steroids.

Then there are the lists. I go through all kinds of lists in the shower. Things I need to pick up from the grocery store–peanut butter, hoisin sauce, zucchini, Vital Wheat Gluten. Phone calls–the hairdressers (the grey is taking over), the pediatrician to reschedule an appointment that conflicts with my daughter’s play practice, the oil company to come make a delivery, my father so he doesn’t think I’ve fallen off the face of the earth, the mechanic to see if the car has heat yet. What to get my 12-year-old for her birthday–a new rug for her bedroom, A Wrinkle in Time (love this book!), a mini donut maker, a peace sign to hang on her wall, a tiger (adopted from WWF), a cell phone (free really if you don’t count the extra monthly fee for 2 years).

When I finally decide, yes, I did put conditioner in my hair and I need to leave it in a few minutes and I don’t know what to do next, I try to touch my toes. Just to be sure I still can. And it takes pretty much the perfect amount of time for the conditioner to do its magic.

By the time I’m done with my shower I’m exhausted. Which makes me want to go back to bed for a few hours but then I would just have to face the music, and the shower (and the music in the shower) again.

What goes on in your shower?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Getting to Know All About You

  1. Wow. You get more done in one shower than I get done in a week! I hadn’t thought about it – I guess I do a lot of thinking in the shower too. No singing though, my family will thank me for that. Hehe.

  2. marybeth

    Do you ever jump out of a running shower and dash around the house naked, dripping water and soap suds everywhere, trying to find a pad and a pencil because you had this (you think) very inspired line that MUST be written down immediately not to be lost? and then you’re about dry, but you have to hop back in the shower and finish washing and rinsing? And then once you are dry and dressed and reread the line it was not so great after all, and you have to retrace your steps with a towel and mop up all the drips? that’s me 🙂

Leave a Reply

